Rachel’s Garden

A recreated 18th century dooryard garden, Rachel’s Garden at historic Mulford Farm, is comprised not only of a number of the plants that were grown by the colonists for medicinal, culinary, dyeing, and housekeeping purposes, but also to supply the home with fresh cut flowers, as well. Rachel’s Garden was designed and planted by Garden Club members, who work throughout the growing season to maintain the garden. Rachel’s Garden was designed and planted by East Hampton Garden Club members, whose generous service throughout the growing season ensures its beauty and care.

Guests are welcome to walk the grounds of the farm and garden even when the historic buildings are closed.

Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden

Visitors can also enjoy the Mimi Meehan Native Plant Garden behind the Clinton Academy, a project of the Garden Club of East Hampton. The garden showcases indigenous plants of the Northeast. The garden demonstrates low maintenance and conservation practices, as well as the natural beauty of native plantings. It is maintained by Garden Club members. The garden is accessible during daylight hours – simply enter the gate located to the left of the Academy porch!

Mary Nimmo Moran Garden

Located at the Thomas & Mary Nimmo Moran Studio, this Victorian garden was painstakingly created and maintained by the Garden Club of East Hampton throughout the seasons. In 2017, the Garden Club of East Hampton opened the Mary Nimmo Moran Garden at the home of Thomas and Mary Nimmo Moran, the first artist’s studio in East Hampton. The Studio also served as the Moran’s home, and it is being restored by The Thomas Moran Trust. GCEH has recreated the garden, originally designed by Mary Nimmo Moran, based on old photos and her painting of the garden dated 1894. The garden was planted in the Grandmother’s Garden style popular at the end of the 19th century. Inspired by the nation’s 1876 centennial, the Grandmother’s Garden was filled with colorful and fragrant flowers reminiscent of colonial gardens. These plants were widely available at the time, through seed catalogues and nurseries that flourished along the East Coast and shipped long distances by rail. Susan Cohen, Fellow in the American Society of Landscape Architects, designed the garden, and it is now maintained by GCEH.

Find out more about the Garden Club of East Hampton ››› https://gceasthampton.org/

Photo credit: Richard Lewin

The Dominys

The Dominys were family of renowned woodworkers—Nathaniel Dominy IV (1737- 1812), son Nathaniel Dominy V (1770-1852), and grandson Felix Dominy (1800-1868) who made everything from cradles to coffins in their home workshop on North Main Street in East Hampton. The exhibit tells the story of the Dominys’ customers who lived in East Hampton in the late 18th and early 19th centuries through the furniture and clocks they commissioned. Thank you to Jeff Heatley at AAQ East End for photographing the exhibit.

In celebration of its 100th Anniversary, the East Hampton Historical Society exhibited “Top Ten Treasures” from its collections. Thank you to Jeff Heatley at AAQ East End for photographing the exhibit.